Catie Di Stefano’s Trip Review – Borgata Casino AC

Share:

Are you curious about how a casino resort experience would look in Atlantic City in 2022? In this part 3 trip review, I will bring you with me to Atlantic City to explore Borgata Hotel & Casino with my original mobile and VR Videos!

If you missed part 1 of my trip review, read it here: Getting from New York to Atlantic City.

And if you missed part 2 of my trip review, read Catie Di Stefano’s Trip Review – Hard Rock Hotel & Casino AC.

If you want to learn more about our experience of the Borgata Online app, check out our reviews here for New Jersey. Let’s just say, it’s super easy to use the Borgata login!

Continue reading below if you want to learn about my Borgata stay in the Garden State in July 2022. Remember to increase your video quality to 4K or the highest possible before watching any VR 360 videos.

Catie Di Stefano

About me

My name is Catie Di Stefano, and I am the Director of Community Marketing at OnlineGamblers.com. I usually prefer playing Borgata Online Casino, but in July 2022, I decided to check out different land-based casino resorts in the Garden State. My wish was to understand the various comps offered by the properties.

I have a vendor license by DGE to operate in New Jersey as a Marketing Consultant, thanks to earlier partnering with Hard Rock Hotel & Casino Atlantic City. During 2018-2022, I helped Hard Rock migrate its gambling operations from offline to online, where my experience in the European online gambling market came in handy.

Before Hard Rock,  I have 11 years of experience working with major brands like Betsson and GiG across several jurisdictions. I also co-founded Weberfy.se, which specializes in helping the iGaming and Cannabis industry with VIP management, CRM, and Marketing.

In my current role with Online Gamblers, I educate on healthy gambling habits and legal casinos in the US.

@onlinegamblers.com

Pullin’ up 🚘 #borgata #borgatacasino #borgataAC #atlanticcity #newjersey #gambling #gardenstate #casino #igaming #gamblingindustry

♬ original sound – onlinegamblers.com

Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa

After checking out from Hard Rock in July 2022, I took a Lyft to Borgata. While most casinos are located along the boardwalk in Atlantic City, Borgata Casino and The Water Club are two hotels located on the other side of town. Golden Nugget Hotel & Casino and Harrah’s Hotel & Casino in Atlantic City are also found in the same area on the other side of town.

borgata outdoor

It was a 10-minute drive from Hard Rock to Borgata, and it cost me $16 with Lyft, including tip. Borgata Casino is located very separately from town, so it’s not close to walking to the boardwalk. There weren’t many restaurants in that area – but there were so many foods and shopping options available inside Borgata and The Water Club.

Locals recommended not walking through town alone. It takes over 1 hour from the boardwalk to Borgata, and some parts of town are not safe for a single female traveler.

The Water Club is the hotel property next to Borgata, and both of the hotels are connected by a tunnel of shops and restaurants. Borgata Water Club in AC share amenities such as pools, gyms, and spas. As a guest at one of the properties, you automatically have access to the common areas of both hotels.

@onlinegamblers.com

Walking from Borgata to Waterpolo in Atlantic City #casino #hotel #newjersey #resort #betmgm #mgmresorts #borgata #gambling

♬ original sound – onlinegamblers.com

Check out my video below to see more of the Borgata Hotel and Casino in AC. The video below is shot 7am and it can be noticed on my tired face, haha! Make sure to update the video quality to 4K and feel free to pause to look around in 360.

Stay Well Classic King

When checking in to Borgata, I had read in the casino Facebook groups that I could get a better room if I slipped $20 into my passport and credit card – but this did not work for me. The receptionist took the $20 and said, “what is this for?” and I said, “for you.” He thanked me and checked me into my originally booked room, so I don’t recommend doing that (lol). The hotel might have been overbooked, but I recommend being more straightforward by saying that the tip was for an upgrade.

The security is excellent at the Atlantic City resorts, including Borgata Casino. There were always guards making sure only hotel guests accessed the elevators. Each guest entering the elevator had to blip their card with the security first before getting in. Since my stay in July 2022, I’ve read that the guards no longer need to blip the cards. The guards are still there, but Borgata has installed card-reading machines next to the guards before entering the elevator area.

I stayed in one Stay Well Classic King room with a gorgeous view of the water and the Water Club. For one night’s stay, I paid $478 at Booking.com, but it’s also common to get a room from your MGM Rewards. As a deposit, I paid $150, and it took about four business days after check-out to receive the money back in my account. The hotel room was large, and the bed was so comfortable, but the hotel rooms at Borgata need to be updated, in my opinion.

Check out my video below to see my room at Borgata.

@onlinegamblers.com

Check out the full hotel and casino trip review at OnlineGamblers.com #atlanticcity #casino #newjersey #gambling #betting #igaming #gamblingindustry

♬ original sound – onlinegamblers.com

Borgata Casino Property

betmgm in borgata copy

Borgata in Atlantic City feels like a classic casino shown in movies. Atmospheric, with dimmed lights, constant sirens of wins, and packed with people. Don’t get me wrong, there are tons of cool lamps and light art installations spread out across the property hallways, but the casino floor was significantly darker in classic casino spirit.

I didn’t see as many families at Borgata as at Hard Rock, but according to the hotel rules, kids could go everywhere in Borgata hotel but on the casino floor. Check out my video below to see me walking around Borgata in AC.

Borgata has a great food court with many food options worldwide. Guests can choose between fine dining restaurants, bars, a food court, and the famous Borgata Buffet. Don’t miss out on the Borgata Pizza at the Borgata Pizza Cafe when you visit!

If you are looking for fine dining, I highly recommend Old Homestead, Borgata’s own steak house. Many I spoke to had made dinner reservations at Angeline Borgata, a fine-dining Italian restaurant. I also saw that the Japanese restaurant was very crowded and upscale. The Japanese restaurant is called Izakaya Borgata.

@onlinegamblers.com

Food court at Borgata Hotel & Casino in Atlantic City #betmgm #nj #borgata #casino

♬ original sound – onlinegamblers.com

Borgata restaurants serves breakfast, brunch, lunch, and dinner with an enormous selection of food. Commonly, loyal players at Borgata receive a comp dinner at the Borgata Buffet. Please note that you will have to pay before entering the Borgata Buffet. Only people who purchase food can sit inside the area. The servers only take tips in cash, so make sure to bring cash before entering the restaurant. I can recommend the brunch I tried, but unfortunately, they asked me not to film inside the restaurant.

We can’t forget the famous Borgata Event Center in Atlantic City. Although I didn’t have time to visit this time, I know that many A-class celebrities have hosted at the Event Center Borgata. In 2023, we will see Chris Rock in February and Jerry Seinfeld in April. I will keep my eyes out for the event’s summer schedule in 2023!

Playing Casino at Borgata AC and MGM Rewards

The casino floor is so large at Borgata, and it’s very easy to get lost on the property. To add, many amenities are spread around the building. Being such a large property, Borgata has one of the widest selections of slot machines available in Atlantic City.

During the autumn, several slot machines around the Borgata Atlantic City were replaced by new machines. It’s very likely that your favorite machines have been relocated to another area. The high-limit slot area were also been closed for renovations from October to December. This was reported by other casino players to me in October 2022.

borgata slot machines

In July 2022, I noticed that Borgata had certain areas designated for Asian games like Pai Gow or Mexican games like Spanish 21. A lot of information on the Borgata property was also available in Spanish, such as how to claim the free no-deposit bonus and game instructions.

Before playing casino at Borgata, I registered at the Service Desk to get my MGM Rewards card. As a new member, I got a $20 real money casino free play code and started on the Sapphire level. This will help me earn Borgata Rewards.

The MGM rewards program also counts play from sports betting and poker. This goes in addition to spending in restaurants, shops, and MGM hotels. I can work my way up to free comp nights, dinners, and play from the Sapphire level at MGM Rewards. If I insert my MGM loyalty card into the slot machines, I will be eligible for free drinks after I’ve spent $10 on one slot.

To claim my $20 real money bonus, I had to enter my new MGM rewards card into one of the MGM rewards machines. Through that machine, I could track current challenges and competitions at the casino. Also, I could view my gaming data, and claim my available promotions.

@onlinegamblers.com

If its not crazy rich, I dont want it 💰Just wish I could watch the whole movie whilst playing 🤓 #borgataAC #betmgm #mgmresorts #casino #gambling #slots #atlanticcity #newjersey #betting #asianamerican

♬ original sound – onlinegamblers.com

Borgata Atlantic City has many penny slots available, but no matter the slot, people always seem to bet with the lowest value. Personally, I kept my eye on the slots “Crazy Rich Asians,” but those slots were constantly occupied at Borgata. Although the most popular slots games at Borgata seemed to be Dancing Drums, Lock it Link, Buffalo Gold, and Dragon Link.

The craps tables at Borgata were always popular and crowded, even during the daytime. Many people who didn’t play stopped just to watch the action. Because of the craps table location, outside the Sports lounge, opposite the poker room and just by the smoker’s entrance – it was easily accessible.

Borgata slots

When playing at the craps table, I learned some fascinating superstitions from other players. For example, it’s bad luck to use $50 bills, throw money on the table when the shooter is doing a roll or bet on number 7. I also learned at the BlackJack table that number 4 from the dealer was unlucky. I’m not even going to talk about the slots superstitions I learned (lots of touching…)!

If you want to dive even deeper into my Atlantic City-trip, continue reading to learn more about my experience gambling and relaxing at Borgata…

@onlinegamblers.com

Slots life in AC 😎 #atlanticcity #slots #casino #gambling #newjersey

♬ original sound – <3

Poker Rooms and Tournaments at Borgata AC

poker borgata

Borgata is known to have the East Coast’s best poker rooms, and I couldn’t agree more. The poker area is large, with many tournaments available from beginner to professional. Different types of poker are available, from Hold’Em to Omaha and Stud, with high and low limits. The poker area is open from 11 am until midnight almost every day.

Registration for tournaments starts 1 hour before the event, and registration comes on a first-come, first-served basis by visiting a Poker Cage. It’s possible to register with cash and chips, but registration must be in person, and you cannot do it online.

When I visited the Borgata Poker Lounge in July 2022, I had problems registering Rewards Points to my MGM Rewards Card. I recommend that any player in Atlantic City visit the shift manager podium in the poker room before leaving. Then you will be sure that they have been added to your account, and you can earn comps.

BetMGM Sports Lounge at Borgata Casino

Borgata was the property that had the most promotions for online and mobile apps. There were plenty of banners and employees branded with BetMGM. I was approached several times by employees when walking through the casino hallways or sitting in the bar. They asked how I was and offered a sports bonus of $200 to download the BetMGM app. Please note that it’s impossible to download the app if you are from Canada or any other country but the United States. The BetMGM app is only available in the US.

@onlinegamblers.com

32 red tomatoes on that taco 🍅🌮 living a pretty nice life in the betting lounge of Borgata as a gambling consultant trying amnesties at casino restorts #roulette #casino #betmgm #borgata #atlanticcity #newjersey #betting #sports #gamblingindustry #igaming #onlinegamblers

♬ original sound – onlinegamblers.com

The BetMGM sportsbook & bar has many screens showing current live games, and it’s possible to place a bet through the app, the betting machines, and the betting windows. While the app and betting kiosks are available 24/7, the betting service windows close at 11:30 pm. The sports lounge at Borgata offers seats in the bar. High-top tables surround it with USB chargers, booths, and VIP seating next to the screens. The seats in the bar also offer a limited selection of slots and card games.horsebetting borgata

If you sit in the Borgata sports lounge, ordering food according to a BetMGM menu is possible. It was cool that each dish’s name is a famous sports athlete. For particular sports events, they require you to spend a minimum at the bar to get a seat. On most days, it’s free to sit down and enjoy a game with a drink.

Don’t forget to insert your MGM Rewards card into the betting or slot machine to register your play, and after spending $10 on slots in the sports bar, you also get free drinks in the lounge.

If you are into Horse Racing, make sure to check out Borgata’s betting lounge specifically for Horse Racing. This area can be located just opposite the sports lounge, close to the smokers exit.

Borgata also offers great betting online. Don’t miss out on the Borgata Sportsbook in NJ here.

Spa and Gym at Borgata AC

The indoor lap pool was closed at Borgata Casino when I visited, but I did manage to visit the outdoor pool and the indoor spa pool. Guests at Borgata also have access to the Water Club’s outdoor and indoor pools next door; however, I didn’t have time to visit The Water during my one-night stay. Please continue reading to learn more about my experience at the Borgata indoor pool and spa. Further down, you’ll find my review of the Borgata outdoor pool “Beer Garden” in Atlantic City.

Conveniently, the spa and garden connect Borgata’s gym, so while working out, you have a fantastic view over the pool and gardens, plus lots of equipment. Kids were allowed in the indoor spa pool between 9 am and 7 pm, but adults had the spa pool from 7 am until 9 am. Being kids-free on this trip, I decided to wake up at 06.30 to be first at the pool. Check out my video below!

Don’t forget to increase the video quality to 4K to see the gym above and my under-water mermaid dances, haha!

The indoor pool was heated and wide enough to swim laps. The pool was very shallow (4ft), and there was no lifeguard on duty at Borgata AC. There were changing rooms available, but no showers in the changing rooms. The only showers available were open to the public. There was no soap or shampoo, so guests should change in their hotel rooms.

Towels are available to rent for guests by the pool. Also, it is possible to book spa appointments in the “Toccare Spa” reception area outside of the pool.

Borgata Beer Garden and Pool in AC

As soon as you’ve checked in, I recommend visiting the Borgata Beer Garden Outdoor Pool. At least, that’s what I did when I visited Borgata in July 2022. It was such a hot summer day, and the pool area closes at 6 pm even in summer. The pool area is close to the sportsbook lounge if you exit the building by the poker room. To get there, continue past the smoking area and take a little outdoor walk from the main building. Follow a pathway with signs to the Beer Garden and Pool.

The Borgata Beer Garden is a little garden full of social activities. This involves Fussball and large 4-in-a-row toys. In the center of the garden, there is a restaurant and bar. The restaurant had an incredible BetMGM menu, with each dish named after a sports athlete, and I tried the nachos.

Next to the Beer Garden Restaurant is the large outdoor pool. This particular area makes Borgata one of the most popular summer casinos in Atlantic City. Of all the resorts in AC, only Borgata, The Water Club, Harrah’s, Ocean’s, and Golden Nugget have outdoor pools. Guests can cool down in this classic American summer city. Borgata is supposed to have one of the best pools in Atlantic City, and I was very impressed when I visited in July 2022.

It’s possible to rent daybeds and cabanas around the pool, but most people just hang out with a drink around the pool edges. The pool was beautiful and large, with many trees around it, and many employees were giving bar service in the area. Everyone working around the Borgata outdoor pool and garden was very young and gorgeous.

The Borgata outdoor pool is seasonal, but you can see a video of my visit in July 2022 below.

If you want to see more original content by me, make sure to follow me and Online Gamblers on social media. Keep an eye out for my next trip review of Bally’s Hotel and Casino in AC…

 

View this post on Instagram

 

A post shared by Catie Di Stefano (@costa_del_smoke)

Catie Di Stefano has worked in the gambling industry since 2011 for major brands like Hard Rock Hotel & Casino, Gaming Innovation Group and Betsson Group. She started in customer support at age 19 and has since worked her way through VIP, CRM and Marketing. Today, Catie is passionate about educating players on consumer rights and the best approaches for legal play in the United States as the Director of Community Marketing at OnlineGamblers.com. Catie was born in Indonesia but grew up in Sweden. Currently, she resides in Spain with her two daughters.

Related news

Show all news
1

Are Online Casinos Safe?

Learn about safe and legal online casino gambling in the U.S. with insights for new players and industry professionals at OnlineGamblers.com!

2

DraftKings Finalizes $750 Million Acquisition of Jackpocket

DraftKings completes its $750M acquisition of Jackpocket, improving customer acquisition and driving growth in the U.S. gambling market!

3

What Casinos Use Sweeps Coins?

Learn more about sweep coins, a unique virtual currency revolutionizing online gambling. Click here and read all about it!